Vendor Spotlight: Shannon Sasaki Photography

Every few weeks we like to spend a little time talking to our favorite vendors, getting the inside scoop on who they are, what they do, what makes them special, and lots of other insider tips as to how they can help YOU!  This week’s vendor spotlight is on Shannon Sasaki, a local Hawaii Wedding Photographer who we recently had the pleasure of working with in February.  Shannon is super easy going, fun, and completely on top of her game when it comes to capturing the right shots at the right times.  It was such a pleasure to work with her and we would highly recommend her to all of our brides.  Her work is really awesome too.. I’m going to try to include a few of Shannon’s photos here, but if you’re looking for a photographer you should check out her full portfolio online at www.ShannonSasakiPhotography.com

Here’s more of our interview with Shannon….vendor spotlight, shannon sasaki photography, hawaii wedding photographer

How long have you been in business? I have shot weddings as a 2nd photographer for about 4-5 years BUT it has now been about 1 1/2 years since I have been on my own, doin my thang, and loving every step of the way. 🙂  

best day ever hawaii, hawaii wedding planning, Christian and Paige, hawaii wedding,Makapu'u beach, makapu'u beach wedding, beach wedding, oahu beach wedding, hawaii beach wedding, oahu wedding

What makes your style or you as a photographer different from other wedding photographers?  What makes me and my style different is my personally really shines through my work… Young, Fresh, Fun, Natural.  My work is a reflection of who I am and what my personality is like.  What makes that great is I attract clients who are very similar in personalities and I usually make a great friend after all of the wedding bonanza is through. I am a natural light phtographer, meaning, I stay away from the flash unless I absolutely must use it.  There’s something about using natural light that makes a photo much more real and candid and that is the kind of work I want to portray… natural, real, and fun. 

best day ever hawaii, hawaii wedding planning, Christian and Paige, hawaii wedding,Makapu'u beach, makapu'u beach wedding, beach wedding, oahu beach wedding, hawaii beach wedding, oahu wedding

What kind of experience can couples expect when they work with you?  Having FUN!  I was born on a friday… so I was made for the weekend and having a good time.  I’m not talking about taking tequila shots together lol (although if a couple calls me up on a night I’m off I won’t be rude and must accept! ;D  BUT I’m just saying I am an extrovert and love to meet new people and interact with everyone.  By the end of the night I will be talking to the brides mother or maid of honor like we were best friends.  I just like to make people feel comfortable as possible because I know how weird it can be having this tiny asian girl taking pictures of you all day and night so by making people feel more comfortable with me, they will forget I even have a camera in my hands and I’ll be able to get great candids! 🙂

waikane wedding, hawaii wedding, oahu wedding, mary and tony, best day ever hawaii, outdoor wedding

What are a few of your favorite past wedding experiences?  My favorite past wedding experiences are the ones that change the way I think or has an impact on my life.  Covering so many weddings you come across so many wonderful and intriguing people.  When I go home from a wedding with more than just nice pictures and learning something, that is always the best.  

papailoa beach, papailoa beach wedding, beach wedding, hawaii wedding, oahu wedding, north shore, north shore wedding, barbora and josef, best day ever hawaii

Are there any key things couples should look for when hiring a photographer?  It is very important to hire a photographer that YOU feel is a perfect fit for you and your fiance.  Yes its great and important to hire someone who has excellent work but it is just as important to hire someone who you get along with and click well with.  This person, the photographer you hire, is going to be with you the WHOLE day and getting to know and interacting with your family and friends and working with you for a good while before AND after the actual wedding day.  You need to make sure that you can trust your photographer to the fullest. So be sure to hire a photographer that fits into your personality and style so that he/she can capture your wedding exactly the way you envisioned.

Jason + Bianca 8/03/12 Waimanalo Bay Beach Park

Are there any details or things to look out for couples should think about on the day of a shoot (engagement or wedding) (ie. colors to wear, lighting, etc.)?  Lighting is best either morning before 11am or early evening before sunset.  If possible try not to schedule a shoot or formal family/wedding party portrait session on the wedding day in the middle of the afternoon.  The sun is directly above you in the afternoon and can cast some ugly shadows on your face.  It’s also not fun to be standing out trying to look pretty during the hottest time of the day… hot heat = sweat = shiny face = runny make up = unhappy bride. So try to plan accordingly and do photo sessions during those times of days.

vendor spotlight, shannon sasaki photography, hawaii wedding photographer

Any special tips for couples looking for a wedding photographer who are tight on budget?  I completely understand how weddings can get EXTREMELY pricey and make you cringe as you write out those checks!  But when it comes down to it, it’s like the saying… “Pictures are memories frozen in time.”  Pictures are what help you to relive a memory and all you have left after the wedding bonanza is done, are the photographs. Wedding photography is something you should really invest in and be prepared to spend a good amount for an excellent and well qualified photographer.  Its true to the saying that “you get what you pay for” and for putting a cost on what will allow you to relive those memories of your wedding day again in the future is truly priceless.  No I’m not saying spend $10,000 on the first photographer you look up but do your shopping around and meet with several photographers that catches your eye.  When you meet with your photographer and make a fabulous connection with and absolutely LOVE their work, it becomes worth it in the end.  Don’t limit yourself, there are HUNDREDS of photographers in Hawaii, your bound to find ONE who fits your budget and what your looking for OR find one whose worth going a little over your budget for. 

engagement, wedding engagement, hawaii engagement

See! Don’t you totally LOVE Shannon already? For more on Shannon and her work, please check out her website at: http://www.shannonsasakiphotography.com/

best day ever hawaii, hawaii wedding planning, Christian and Paige, hawaii wedding,Makapu'u beach, makapu'u beach wedding, beach wedding, oahu beach wedding, hawaii beach wedding, oahu wedding

Wishing you a very H A P P Y Saturday!,
Nicole & Erika (Best Day Ever – Hawaii Wedding Planners)

Leave a Reply

