First Hawaii Wedding as an Intern

Let me introduce myself, my name is Kelli & I began interning for Best Day Ever a few months ago.  I’ve learned so much in the process, and wanted to share with you a behind the scenes look at what really goes on at a Hawaii wedding with wedding planners Nicole & Erika of Best Day Ever Hawaii.

I’ve never experienced a Hawaii wedding before so attending my first as an intern I was super excited. Throughout my internship I’ve been able to catch a small glimpse into what a wedding is like but I must admit that experiencing it in real life is a completely different feeling.  Being able to watch the moments between father and daughter, the first look, and the first dance was incredibly special!

Photo below: me, Kelli 🙂

hawaii wedding, intern, best day ever hawaii intern, best day ever hawaii

There is so much that goes into planning a wedding and being a total newbie to the whole thing I’ll admit I got a little flustered keeping track of all the details.  Nicole and Erika had been working with this couple for months so they were fully prepared with everything including a list of things for me to do (Phew, thank goodness!!)

 

A wedding planner’s job starts and ends with catering to the needs of the couple.  I saw a lot of thing that I would expect to see like checklists, timelines, organizing place cards, talking with the florist and venue coordinators etc.  There were also a lot of things that I didn’t expect either like last minute changes with the flowers, finding batteries for a cake topper and even a tsunami warning (yes a tsunami warning!).

The tsunami warning was probably the biggest shocker of the night!  But as chaotic as I thought it would have gotten it was surprisingly calm.  We figured out the situation and kept everyone informed.  The groom made the announcement to the guests and everything went right back to normal. The night may have ended a little earlier than expected but overall I think the couple left happy. 🙂

To anyone that says they don’t need a wedding planner I can vouch that there’s way more to it than meets the eye.  It takes a real passion to do what Nicole and Erika do.   I realized that a truly great wedding planner will go far beyond simply organizing vendors and making sure everyone is accounted for.  A wedding planner needs to build a trust with each couple, fully understand their vision and be able to openly communicate with them.  Who else is going to remember to bring bug spray because everyone was getting bitten during the rehearsal or know the exact time the sun would set so they could get the perfect photos?hawaii wedding, oahu wedding, beach wedding, papailoa beach, papailoa beach wedding, north shore wedding, michael and jennifer, best day ever hawaii

 

If I could take away anything from my experience it would be that you have to be able to roll with the punches.  As a future bride I’d want to be rest assured that if a problem comes up my wedding planner will sort it out with little or no interference from me (Excluding natural disasters of course!)

I have to thank the bride and groom Kristen and Neal for allowing me to take part in their special day and to Nicole and Erika for taking me under their wing and teach me the ropes! It was an unforgettable first time experience!

~ Kelli
Best Day Ever Hawaii
Hawaii’s Premiere Wedding Planning & Event Design Team!

Leave a Reply

